Oh, Baby!

Well, I’ve officially spilled the beans on Twitter, so I think I’m now obligated to post something here…
723668093

Just a little light reading we’re doing these days…

Yup, I’m pregnant.

And to preemptively respond to the most common questions I’ve gotten…

When are you due? July 22.  (Funny story… I was talking with A’Dell at the Blathering and she mentioned that each year, there’s been one attendee who was pregnant and didn’t know it yet.  Turns out, she was actually talking to this year’s that someone. Crazy!)

How are you feeling? This is where you will all hate me. I have had basically zero morning sickness. I felt pretty nauseous (that is a word I always need auto-correct to help me out with) on the 6+ hour car ride home from Thanksgiving, and there was a week or so where I needed to eat some pretzels immediately upon waking up, but I haven’t actually puked. Then again, I’m just not really a puker in general. Other than getting sick a few times after drinking too much (such proud moments), I haven’t thrown up since having appendicitis in 1992. I’m sure I had a few stomach bugs before then, but I honestly don’t remember them so I’m guessing they were few and far between. (*knocks on all the wood in the surrounding area and hopes I don’t get the third-trimester morning sickness I’ve heard about, because that seems like it would be even worse than the first trimester*)

I did, however, suffer from near-debilitating exhaustion. Seriously, if everyone gets this tired in the first trimester, I have NO idea how people who already have kids to chase after or who don’t have a partner living with them to pick up some slack survive. I would basically come home from work, go straight to the couch, and then not move until bedtime. But of course, despite being so exhausted, I had a terrible time sleeping and would wake up just about every hour or so. (Not to pee, though… my bladder of steel is still holding up for me. I usually don’t have to get up and go to the bathroom until around 5 a.m.) I was able to fall back asleep pretty quickly, but I feel like none of my sleep was actually restful for those 6 weeks or so. Things are much better now… I usually only get up once or twice (which is standard for non-pregnant me), but I am having a hard time finding a comfortable position for falling asleep. I’m usually a stomach or back sleeper, so adjusting to mostly sleeping on my side has been tough. (I find I wake up on my back sometimes, but I’m not too concerned about sleeping on my back for an hour or two during the night.)

Man, pregnancy. Already taking about puking and pee and lack of sleep and the baby hasn’t even arrived. Who am I?

(These are, of course, just the physical symptoms… the emotional adjustment would be lengthy enough for its own post, should I ever get around to it.)

Are you finding out the sex? Nope. Well, I mean, we’ll find out at delivery, but not before then. This has been almost universally met with, “Why?” or “How can you do that?” or “I could never.”

Here’s the thing. I totally, 100% understand why most people want to know ahead of time. For most of them, it is not about wanting it to be a boy or a girl, or needing to plan a nursery that perfect shade of blue, or buying a pink baby carrier. It’s because there is already so much anxiety and there are so many unknowns, that most people want to know this one concrete thing ahead of time. It helps them adjust, makes it seem more real. I totally get that.

And you’d think that being the type of person who often has a hard time adjusting to change, that I would fall into this camp of needing to know the sex of the baby ahead of time. But I am also one of those weird people that really, really, really likes surprises. (Well, good ones.) I never once went searching to find out what my parents bought me for Christmas, I didn’t want to have any idea when a proposal was actually coming when we got engaged (which is why Adam’s proposal was so perfect for me, even if there was no ring at the time), I don’t even want to know where Adam’s taking me for my birthday dinner until I show up. And I think a brand new baby is going to be the BEST kind of surprise… I’m kind of giddy thinking about the “It’s a _____!” moment in the delivery room.

7 Comments

Filed under Big News!

7 responses to “Oh, Baby!

  1. Woo! I get to be the first to congratulate you on your blog. So exciting!

    Even thought I never had the “It’s a !” experience, I always thought it would be great. I saw pictures of a friends husband telling the family in the waiting room, and their reactions, and it was ADORABLE.

  2. RA

    Congratulations!! I am in full support of not finding out the sex of the baby. That’s old-school and high-quality. :)

    • Stephanie

      Oooh… maybe I’ll just say that we’re old-school and that will satisfy people! (Not that I really care if they think it’s weird. If we ever change our mind about waiting, that won’t be why.)

  3. Awesome!!! Congratulations!!! I am so, so happy for you!!! And I think there are plenty of exclamation points in this comment now.

  4. Congrats! I am so happy for you!

  5. Sarah

    I don’t think it’s weird at all that you don’t want to know until the big day. I always thought that’s what I would do.

  6. We didn’t find out either, and to this day my BFF doesn’t believe me and it was a really fun way to be pregnant.

    As I said on twitter, congrats!