Why I Run…

This may come as a bit of a surprise, considering how often I write about running and races here, but I do not love running. In fact, most of the time, I don’t even like it. I can probably count on one hand the number of times I laced up my sneakers and went for a run just because I felt like it.  Most often, it’s because I have a run scheduled on my training plan. Even when I’m not signed up for a race, it’s usually just because I feel like I should go for a run because I need to get some exercise, not because I actually want to or enjoy it.

To date, I have run nearly fifty races (there are four I still need to add to that list, including a 5K PR!).  So why do I sign up for so many races if I don’t love running? Because even if I don’t particularly enjoy the physical act of running most days, I do love the excitement of race day. I love the feeling of accomplishment I get when I run a strong race. I love seeing actual improvement in my fitness and my ability and my race times. I love that I’ve run three half marathons, when I dreaded long run days on track and never wanted to do anything other than sprints. I love setting goals, working towards them, reaching them, and setting new ones and starting the cycle again.

So no, I haven’t yet developed a love for running itself. I haven’t reached that point where I feel like I just need to go for a run, just for the sake of running. I still need to sign up for long races, like a  half marathon this October, to motivate myself to get out there a few times a week. But every once in a while, I have one of those really great runs that make me think maybe, just maybe, the day where I can say I actually love to run… just run… isn’t that far off.

1 Comment

Filed under Pretending to be a Runner

One response to “Why I Run…

  1. That’s funny, I think I am a bit of the opposite, I prefer to run by myself then in a race. though there is obviously something about races that triggers something in me since my times are usually faster.