April Goals…

Wow, with the half marathon, my birthday, house hunting, and friends in town, March really flew by. Here’s the recap of my March goals…

1. Try to tackle several of my 101 things in 1001 days. I’m planning to do an official end of 1001 days recap in the next week or so, but I actually only ended up crossing one more thing this month.  But all in all, 68 out of 100 isn’t so bad.

2. Read a book.  I read The Hunger Games in pretty much a single sitting. (30 pages on a Thursday, the rest of it on Saturday.)  It definitely lived up to all of the hype.  I tried to read it so that I could go see the movie with some friends on the Sunday that was the day after I finished it, but then other things came up and I wasn’t able to go anyway. I’m actually glad I didn’t see it right away, because I wanted to just live with the book for a little while before seeing the movie adaptation.  I may still try to go see it while it’s in the theater because I have heard good things, but I also get kind of squeamish watching certain types of violence (pretty much anything to do with sharp objects), so I’m not sure how much I’d enjoy the movie itself just based on that aspect alone.  I have heard mixed things about the last two books, but I am planning on reading both of them. I’m going to add them to the library wait list (which I’m sure is forever long) or borrow them from a friend.

3. Do one non-running workout per week. I did not do this every week, however, in the last week of March I did one day of strength training (and my legs were SORE for days afterward, so I’m definitely out of shape!), one spinning class, and one 20 minute bike ride.

On to April!

1. Go to boot camp at least twice a week. I signed up for a boot camp class through Groupon about a month ago.  I tend to enjoy working out in classes more than solo… at least once I can get over my fear of doing something new. I really need to get back into shape, because pretty much all I do lately is run and my running has actually suffered as a result. Last year, when I was the fastest I’d ever been, I was running, spinning and going to Body Pump regularly. I know that I am going to be SO SORE as a result of boot camp, but I think it might be just the kick in the butt I need to get into shape.  The biggest obstacle? It requires me to get up at 5:30 a.m. Eeek!

2. Clean out my closet. By the end of April, it’ll be just about time to break out all my summery clothes, so I think it’s a good time to go through my wardrobe and clean out those pieces I never wear. I’m really trying to figure out what my sense of style (if I even have one) is by trolling pinterest and polyvore and seeing if there are any looks that I am repeatedly drawn to. I actually did this experiment back in late fall/early winter and thought it worked pretty well, but summer clothes and work clothes are harder. I’d like to have a well edited closet with pieces I really like and can mix and match well. Now, I feel like I sort of haphazardly buy something, wear it a few times, then decide I liked it a lot more in the store or online than in my actual closet.

3. Watch less television. We actually don’t watch a ton of specific television shows, but our problem tends to be that we’ll have the television on as background noise and it’ll kind of suck us in and we end up wasting away our evenings and staying up later than we intended.  So, the plan is that during the week, we can watch The Daily Show with dinner and sporting events (baseball season starts this week!), and then any other shows we watch can be DVR’d and watched on Friday night or the weekend.

1 Comment

Filed under Goals and Resolutions

One response to “April Goals…

  1. Sounds like great goals!