February Goals…

Overall, I think I did pretty well on my January goals. And February’s a short month, so it should be even easier for me to stick with those, right?

Here’s a recap of my January goals:

1. Don’t eat out in January (except for unavoidable work-related events and special events). We did great at this! The only time we ate out was this past weekend when we met our friends Carla and Aaron to watch a Maryland-VTech basketball game and decided to prolong our visit together with a dinner out (at a restaurant where the average diner was 65). I think that was a good enough reason. (The company, that is, not the food.)

2. Work out 4 times a week. I did this 3 out of 4 weeks. The week I pulled/strained/tweaked my calf while moving boxes in high heels, I only got in two workouts.

3. Be in bed by 10pm on “school nights.” Overall, I did pretty well at this. I was much better about this at the beginning of the month, but generally I have been getting to bed much earlier than I used to.

4. Do LAPS – 10 lunges, 10 abs (crunches), 10 push-ups, 10 squats – every day. Ugh, I stopped this about halfway through the month. I don’t know why this is so hard for me. It’s so easy… I just have to DO it.

5. Take vitamins every day. I’d say I probably did this about 2/3 of the time, which is much better than the once or twice a week I was probably averaging before.

And now for February!

1. Blog more. Seriously, I have been in such a rut.  Pretty much all I’ve blogged about lately is running (and this is not a running blog) or recapping my monthly goals. BORING. Back before getting a “real job” (and before Twitter), I’d post almost daily… sometimes more than daily! (Uhh, most of those posts did not make the transition over to this blog though, but I swear I did!) I miss it. I just need to find a way to fit it in more and not be so afraid of opening up a new post window when I think I have nothing to say.

2. Work out 4 times a week, including 1 day of strength training. It only took me 31 years (okay, probably more like 16 years), but I finally realized I will never be “skinny.”  My body just is not built that way.  Even at my lowest adult weight (127 lbs, which at 5’7″ and with my build is not a weight I can, or should, maintain), I didn’t look like I thought I would once I lost the weight. My hips, butt, and freakishly large ribs (seriously, I had to order my wedding gown two sizes up to accommodate them, which meant a LOT had to be taken in up top, ahem, and at the waist) don’t go away just because the pounds do.  So screw it, my goal is no longer to be skinny.  My goal is to have an awesome, STRONG body. I know I can turn some of that soft squishiness into muscle. I miss my old boxing arms.  I miss my toned legs, muscular calves.  (I’ve never had flat abs – that’ll take some serious work.)  It’s hard to fit in regular strength training with all my half marathon workouts, but I’m hoping that once I finish the race, I’ll have a good enough base that I can cut back on some runs and add in a lot more strength training, yet still maintain my speed and endurance. In the meantime, I need to start strength training at least once a week.

3. Do LAPS — 10 lunges, 10 abs (crunches), 10 push-ups, 10 squats — every day.  FOR REAL. I mean, COME ON. Just DO IT, SELF.

4. Plan a vacation. We really wanted to take a beach vacation last year, but we never got around to planning it. We really, really just need to buckle down and start planning one for this year, or else another year will pass us by without taking a trip that doesn’t involve going to someone else’s wedding. (Not that we don’t love going to our friends’ weddings… just that they probably shouldn’t be the only reason we travel.)

5. Take vitamins every day. Let’s see if I can actually make it a habit this month.

2 Comments

Filed under Goals and Resolutions

2 responses to “February Goals…

  1. Sarah

    You know I love you. But, you are batshit crazy about never being skinny. Seriously I want to kick you in the butt right now. And forget that word skinny anyways b/c I hate it. You look GREAT. You have never not looked great. Okay, some of your (and my) middle school clothing choices were def questionable at best. But, hey we can’t help the decade we grew up in. I hear you on wanting to build muscle though. I am attempting the same thing right now. But, I am the opposite…abs I can get in a second, but oh my legs just refuse to get muscular.

    • Stephanie

      That’s actually my point… skinny IS a bad word. When I think of skinny, I think of those supermodels who are WAY skinny. Like, unhealthy skinny. And for way too long, I thought THAT was a realistic and valid goal, and it totally, totally is not. It’s not even attractive! I’d much rather be fit and strong. But I was never skinny, which is a GOOD thing.

      And I love you too. Questionable fashion choices of the early-90s aside. :-)