I Think It’s Called Personal Growth or Something…

Here are three things you might not know about me (or, if you are friends with me in real life, you’re probably thinking… DUH!):

1. I am shy and very nervous about meeting new people. (Usually there is a lot of awkward stammering and awkward too loud talking/awkward silences and awkward laughter and, well, just more general awkwardness.)

2. I am often irrationally afraid of trying new things.

3. I get anxious driving somewhere I’ve never been before. (Added bonus fact: I also get anxious driving in bad weather.)

Given the above, no one is more surprised than me that I accepted Caitlin’s (who I’ve never met in person before) offer to go to a Zumba class (that I’ve never done before) in her neighborhood (in an area I’ve never driven to before) on a rainy Wednesday night.

But I am so glad I did!

1. It was so great to finally meet Caitlin in person! (And, actually, I was not at all as shy/nervous/awkward as I usually am!)

2. Zumba was a lot of fun, even though by the time I finally caught onto one move, we were on the next one. But I didn’t trip over my own two feet!  Well… not enough to fall on my face, which is what counts. Success!  I’m bummed that we had to miss the first 15 minutes of the class, because…

3. Traffic sucked. It took me an hour and a half to go 18 miles. I hate rush hour in this area SO FREAKING HARD.

Well, two out of three isn’t bad.
3 Comments

Filed under Randomness

3 responses to “I Think It’s Called Personal Growth or Something…

  1. RA

    Good on you! I really miss Zumba. None of the classes at the Y are at times I have been able to make so far. Are you going to try it again? It gets easier and more fun each time.

  2. Caitlin

    Ahhhh!! i am so excited about this post! I had no idea about MOST of those anxiety causing issues — you handled it so well, and totally did not deserve the commute from hell that you got.

    I had a blast with you last night. It was so much fun to have a partner to make a fool out of myself with and since we’re talking about personal growth, I will say that I consider it a personal success that I did not make you run off screaming into the woods. I can tend to be a nervous over-talker.

    Also, you’re welcome for getting to witness some of my Super Sweet dance moves. I hope you can bleach those memories from your brain sometime in the near future.

    Seriously, you did great and I hope we do it again!!

    (And FWIW, I only just realized I didn’t have you in my reader. I’ve missed a lot. REMEDIED.)

  3. i’m with you on ALL of these things. except, i’ve only driven TWO TIMES since i’ve moved here, so i’m actually just anxious to drive anywhere. it’s embarrassing.

    i took a zumba class once (with my sister, those classes are only fun if you have a friend there to look over at and be like I AM AWESOME AT THIS *latin hip shake*) and it was hard! plus our instructor was eastern european and that added a level of..something. i was a little scared of her.