Four Eyes, The Third

I can’t believe it’s been over a month since I last mentioned my quest to find a new pair of glasses!

After sending back the first set of glasses to try on, I ordered five more pairs.  I wasn’t really a fan of any of the new frames I chose and started to doubt my decision on the Reece in midnight blue.  Since I didn’t really love any of them, I didn’t bother to take photos of those.

So, I sent those pairs back and ordered another five pairs.  I decided to give the black frames a shot this time, so I ordered Nedwin and Langston in black (you can see how I looked in other colors of those frames here), Sibley in black, and, again, Reece in midnight blue.  (I also got one other pair, but I can’t even remember what it was, so obviously it didn’t make any impression.)

The black wasn’t actually as stark as I thought it would be with my coloring.  All of the black pairs I chose, except the Sibley, actually were clear in the back which let some light through and they weren’t so opaque.  For some reason, I never got around to taking photos of those glasses either, but I will tell you that I did finally make a decision to order the Langston in black.  (You may remember that the Langston was the popular vote on this post.)

I pulled the trigger, placed my order, and excitedly waited for my new glasses to arrive.   I put them on as soon as I got them and LOVED the frames.  BUT.  (Of course there’s a but.)  But, my prescription is so terrible that, due to the wider size of the lenses, there was this weird warping thing going on at the edges of the lenses.  It wasn’t too noticeable on the left side, but my right eye is significantly worse than my left eye (-0.75 worse, for those who know prescriptions) and the right side was definitely all fun-house mirror-y at the side.

*SIGH*  So, I finally found a pair of frames I loved, but it just couldn’t work because my eyesight is so bad.  I swear, these eyeballs of mine are so freaking high maintenance.

Now, here’s where I plug the awesomeness of Warby Parker again.  First, they have a 100% guarantee, no questions asked policy for returns, even AFTER they have cut lenses specifically for your prescription.  I called them up, explained that I needed to return my glasses, and they emailed me a return label WHILE I was on the phone with them.  Second, I explained that I loved the frames, but because of my high prescription it just wouldn’t work out, but could they help me choose some other frames where the lenses wouldn’t be quite so wide or situated on my face in a way that would do the whole warping thing.  The guy I spoke with was super helpful and when he didn’t know the answer to my question, was able to put me on hold for just a minute or two to find someone who could. And then, he didn’t judge me at all when I put in my FOURTH try-on order, which arrived today.

I’ve narrowed it down to two choices, and here’s where I’m asking for your input again. (If you’re even still reading after I’ve now written about eleventy hundred words on three posts about freaking eyeglasses.)

First:

 

Nedwin (in black)

Second:

Carlen (in Striped Evergreen)

I will admit that I am already leaning more towards one pair than the other, but I definitely would like a second (or third, or fourth, or fifth…) opinion.

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Randomness

3 responses to “Four Eyes, The Third

  1. Lise

    Option two with the more square frames looks great on you. The other ones look too small for your face.

  2. Sarah

    Hmmm. First pair = simple, cute. Second pair = adorable, have a bit more flare.

    You have put about 10,000x more effort than I ever could into selecting glasses :-)