Glass Half Full

At first, I came here to complain.

Complain about the fact that some movers set off the sprinkler system in the hallway of our floor of our apartment building when they were moving in a mattress.

Instead, I’m grateful that we got home seconds after he broke it, and were able to dash inside and block our door with towels to slow the flooding and keep it from coming all the way through the tiled kitchen to our carpeted living room.

Complain about the fact that, despite our best efforts, the water managed to come through the wall in the bathroom.

Instead, I’m grateful that we were home and able to mop up all of the water on top of the bathroom tiles and run a quick load of towels.

Complain about the fact that we had to use freshly washed towels to clean up all this mess.

Instead, I’m grateful that I was just lazy enough not to waste my time folding them and putting them away the night before, thereby saving myself from repeating the same task twice in 24 hours.

Complain about the fact that, despite our best efforts to mop up all of the water on top of the bathroom tiles, it still managed to go under the flooring and into our bedroom closet.

Instead, I’m grateful that we noticed it last night, so that the flood tech guys could come in and set up a fan in the closet before it got worse.

Complain about the fact that the water has since seeped further under the floor, necessitating four separate fans set up in our bedroom and a giant dehumidifier blocking most of the clothes in my closet.

Instead, I’m grateful we have a second bedroom that we can sleep in tonight and my suits are in the one tiny portion of my closet that is not blocked off so I have something to wear tomorrow.

Complain about the fact that the flood tech crew has removed all of the baseboards from the walls and is coming in and out of our apartment several times over the next few days.

Instead, I’m grateful I actually live in a building that is making sure we don’t end up with mold in our walls and has hired professionals to deal with this issue. (Unlike a previous apartment I lived in, where they brushed off our concerns of radiator flooding until MUSHROOMS WERE GROWING OUT OF THE CARPET OMG.)

2 Comments

Filed under Randomness

2 responses to “Glass Half Full

  1. Sarah

    Wait you are forgetting the best thing to be grateful for…you don’t OWN this apt!!!!!!!!!!!! :-)

  2. omg mushrooms growing out of the carpet?!?

    hope things get cleaned up quickly!