Why I Try Not to Talk to Strangers…

Awkward conversation with random 30-something looking guy on the office elevator…

Him: So, what do you do?
Me: I’m an attorney.
Him: Right on. (He seriously said that.) Where did you go to law school?
Me: Georgetown.
Him: Nice. Oh, so you just graduated?
Me: Uhhh, no. I graduated five years ago.**
Him: [blank stare]
Me: I guess I look young for my age… (exits elevator)

** I was wrong. I actually graduated six years ago. SIX YEARS! Holy cannoli!

3 Comments

Filed under Conversations

3 responses to “Why I Try Not to Talk to Strangers…

  1. My Dad was always really bad about remembering how old he was. People would ask his age, he’d be off by two years usually (and not in a vain way, it’d be up or down randomly). I just couldn’t understand how a man couldn’t remember his age. Now I actually get mine wrong by a year half the time, and if I want to get it right it takes me a minute. A year here and there just isn’t a big deal at our age, welcome to senility.

  2. a year ago, when i was talking about graduation, someone assumed i meant high school graduation. i was actually finishing grad school. at 27. but looking young is awesome, so go us!

  3. Sarah

    Is it weird for people to say right on? I may have lived in SoCal for too long…