What I’ve Been Reading…

Joining a book club is the best thing I could have done for my reading life. Coupled with the fact that I just rediscovered the library (FREE BOOKS!), I have read more books in the past year than I did in all the prior years since college (assigned books not withstanding). Here’s what I’ve been reading these last few months:

The Maltese Falcon
Love in the Time of Cholera (book club)
Room
Orange is the New Black: My Year in a Women’s Prison (book club)
Let the Great World Spin (book club)
Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim (in progress)

After I started my new job last fall, it was really difficult for me to adjust to my commute. Just to give you an idea what it’s like, I travel 11 miles in anywhere from 25 minutes to an hour (sometimes worse, if traffic is really bad). My commute requires me to go through ongoing, unavoidable construction… and will do so for another two years. I’d arrive at work already stressed out and would be absolutely miserable upon arriving home. Adam suggested I listen to audiobooks during my commute and that suggestion was an absolute lifesaver. I used his iPod for a few months and then finally caved and requested my very own Apple product — an iPod nano — for Christmas for the sole purpose of listening to audiobooks.

So far, I’ve listened to:
The entire Harry Potter series. If you are an HP fan, I cannot recommend listening to the audiobooks, especially the British version, enough… I caught so many things I missed while hurriedly reading through the series myself. I listened to the entire series, straight through, which took me about 7 months (including a break for the wedding, honeymoon and holidays).
Ender’s Game
I’ve also listened to several episodes of Wait Wait… Don’t Tell Me! and David Sedaris Live at Carnegie Hall.
I started Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, and while I think I will like the book if I were to actually read it, I could not stand the voice of the person who was reading it, and so I stopped listening before it ruined the book for me for good.

Have you read (or listened) to anything you’d recommend lately?

4 Comments

Filed under Randomness

4 responses to “What I’ve Been Reading…

  1. RA

    Ohh, I liked the reader for “The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie”! Too bad. I am trying the second one in the series in book form during my beach weekend, I think.

    Recently, I have liked:

    Bossypants, by Tina Fey
    Still Alice, by Lisa Genova
    Winter’s Bone, by David Woodrell
    The Dirty Life, by Kristin Kimball
    Room, by Emma Donogue
    Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life, by Amy Krouse Rosenthal

    I read all of these as regular books, but I think the first 2 (especially Tina Fey’s) would translate well to audio. I also like British humor for audio, like PG Wodehouse. Something about the accent, I think.

    • Stephanie

      I agree with the British accent thing, especially after listening to Harry Potter. That’s one reason I had high hopes for Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, but I found the woman’s voice so grating. Maybe I only like male British readers. I’ll look into PG Wodehouse – I am not familiar with him, but I do enjoy British humor!

      I bet Bossypants is a great audio book… I’ll have to see how long the wait is at the library. (Probably weeks.)

  2. Daniel

    I just finished and totally recommend Ken Follett’s “Fall of Giants”, which is the first book in a planned trilogy. It follows five interconnected families all over the world at the beginning of the 20th Century. It mainly covers before, during, and immediately after World War I, through the eyes of people on all sides of the conflict. The future books will follow the descendents of the characters in the first book throughout the rest of the 20th century.
    It’s a large book, close to 1000 pages, but it reads super quick. Plus, even though I thought I knew enough about world history, I learned soooo much from reading this. Follett is a master at that – embedding rich historical detail seamlessly into gripping narratives. I’d also recommend his other 2 “epic” works: “Pillars of the Earth”, which is about the construction of a cathedral in 12th century England, and it’s sequel “World Without End”, which follows the descendents of the characters from “Pillars” in the 14th century during the plague. Again, both of those books are history lessons disguised as addictive soap operas. The heros are likeable, but flawed, and when Follett writes a bad guy, you HATE that character’s guts. “Pillars of the Earth” was also made into an amazing 6 hour+ miniseries starring Ian McShane and Donald Sutherland, among others, that you can get on NetFlix. Melissa and I watched it all in one day! All of these books are available on Audiobook, I belive as well.

    Happy reading!!!!!!
    – D.

  3. I miss my book club. Melissa and I haven’t been since our second kid. Enjoy!