Camden…

A couple of weekends ago, Adam and I went up to Baltimore to see our friends Carla and Aaron and take a tour of Camden Yards… or more accurately, Oriole Park at Camden Yards. Despite being a lifelong Mets fan, Camden is my favorite ballpark (at least, of the ones I’ve been to so far) and Iron Man Cal Ripken might be one of my favorite players, ever. I mean, really, how can you be a baseball fan and not put Cal Ripken in at least your top 5, right? I vividly remember lying on the floor of my parents’ living room as I watched him walk around the entire baseball field, shaking hands with the fans, after breaking the games played streak record. (Oh, and here’s Cal playing Not My Job on Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me. So great.)

Anyway… back to the tour. Our tour guide started off telling us all about the design of the park, which was designed specifically to look like the classic, older ballparks (but more comfortable and up-to-date) and not all of the concrete stadiums that were so popular in the 1990s. (And, apparently, still quite popular, ahem, Nationals Park.) The color of the bricks was chosen to exactly match the warehouse next door, the green of the seats matches the green of the padding around the interior of the ballpark, and, as we saw more of the interior of the stadium, these brick orange and forest green colors were carried throughout the decor. Even the dirt on the infield and the rubber warning track match! Turns out it’s no accident that I think it’s the prettiest ballpark around!

We went inside the pressbox…

This hit/error switch lights up the H and E in “The Sun” in the photo, below.

We got to go into the dugout…

Down on the field…

And onto the batter’s circle.

Of course I got a photo with retired #8…

And here’s Carla and me hanging out with the Babe…

After our tour (and lunch), we went to the Babe Ruth and Sports Legends Museum, which is right next door to the stadium in what used to be an old train station. It’s a small museum, but it had some cool memorabilia and interesting history about Babe Ruth (did you know he was an actor, too?) and all of the Maryland sports teams. Of course, we probably had the most fun in the kids’ section, where we got to try on real players’ equipment.

I’m now hooked on the idea of stadium tours! I don’t know whether we’ll do a tour of Nationals Park (it’s not like it has any interesting history or is all that pretty to look at), but maybe we’ll try to go on one in San Francisco or Seattle when we are there this summer.

3 Comments

Filed under Randomness