5k Fridays 2011: Race One

Just a quick recap…

It was pretty chilly and windy on Friday, so I wasn’t counting on setting a PR at the 5K distance in the first 5K Friday race. I felt pretty good during the run though, and after finishing the second mile, knew that I could pick up the pace enough to beat my previous best time. I ended up finishing in 29:19, nine seconds faster than my previous PR. It took me a while to warm up and I don’t feel like I really went all out, so I’m pretty sure I can drop a few more seconds off my time in another of the 5K Fridays. Probably not the next one, though, since we have the GW Classic 10 Miler just two days after that… I don’t want to push it too hard that close to the race.

I felt pretty good during the run, but after the race, my left knee really started to bother me. I’ve been taking ibuprofen and icing it and it definitely felt better today, but I will have to take it pretty easy this week so that it is ready to run 10 miles on Sunday. It makes me a little nervous, because I won’t have gotten in too many runs in the two weeks between the half marathon and the ten miler, but I think I have a better shot at finishing strong if I don’t run too many miles this week. I’ll probably test my knee out on Tuesday and see how I feel.

Distance: 5K/3.1 miles
Time: 29:19
Pace: 9:26/mile

Comments Off on 5k Fridays 2011: Race One

Filed under Pretending to be a Runner, Race Recap

Comments are closed.