Crystal City Twilighter

It topped 100 degrees yesterday. It was still 96 at 8pm. Yet, Adam and I were crazy enough to go ahead and run complete the Crystal City Twilighter last night. We’d already paid for it as part of our race package and we’d received an email from the coordinator basically challenging us to run our slowest 5K ever. Well, okay, I could do that.
We ran slowly jogged 2/3 of the race and walked the rest. Well, we did actually run the last .25 miles or so, but most of it we just plodded along slowly. My goal was to finish without throwing up, passing out, or ending up with a raging headache for the rest of the night. Success! (I also got to eat some Fig Newtons and we grabbed some bananas for the rest of the weekend. Bonus!)
They actually broke down our mile-by-mile stats, so I’ve added those into my usual recap:
Distance: 3.1 miles
Mile 1: 11:32 (jogged the entire way)
Mile 2: 13:29 (mostly jogged)
Mile 3: 14:41 (mostly walked)
Final 0.1: 0:51 (run!)
Total Time: 40:32
Pace: 13:03/mile
They’ve screwed up my age on every race so far. Because we signed up for all the year’s races before March (where they asked for our age and birthday, but apparently ignored the latter), they’d had my age as 29 in every race up through this one, even though I was already 30. Apparently they had to enter in our info all over again for the year’s second-half races, and I am now 39 . I was a little upset, but damn do I look good for a 39 year old! (Although I’m still slower than most of the 35-39 age group.)

2 Comments

Filed under Pretending to be a Runner, Race Recap

2 responses to “Crystal City Twilighter

  1. Congrats on finishing! I could not believe how hot it was outside! Definitely my slowest 5k race ever but was really glad I did it/when it was over. ;)

  2. Daniel

    96 degrees? Are you CRAZY?
    That’s some serious, gonna get dehydrated definitely, but maybe even come down with heat stroke temperatures! At least you walked/jogged most of it. My main memory of running in temperatures that hot was when we were freshman in high school and V.C. held the County/Sectional track meet. There was a senior from Middletown named Aaron something-or-other, and he was the best 2 miler in the state of New York. He was leading the race, and he got to the back stretch on the very last lap, and fell down/passed out from heat exhaustion. He sorta crawled the last 50 meters and then threw up ALL OVER the finish line. They had do cart him off to the locker rooms, and then just soaked him in the showers with ice cold water before taking him to the emergency room. So needless to say, I’ve never enjoyed running in 90+ temperatures, and I’ve never pushed myself in temps. that hot… BE CAREFUL!
    – D.