Earth Day 5K

This past Sunday, we drove out to Silver Spring for the Earth Day 5K. We rarely drive to morning races (we’re lucky that so many start within walking distance of our place), so we had to get up extra early to get out there. We checked the weather before we left and it was 50 degrees, so I decided to wear my running capris, a tech tee, and a running jacket.
When we got to the race, it was cold. Adam checked the temperature on his phone and it said it was 40 degrees! Brr! Somehow we drove 9 miles and it got 10 degrees colder! We (along with a few dozen others) hung out in a parking garage until just before the race start.
Because we hadn’t gotten a ton of sleep the night before (we went to a late dinner with my mom and aunt, who were visiting), and we’d run a race just 38 hours before, we decided we weren’t going to push ourselves too hard. In fact, Adam actually ran with me! It’s been a long time since he’s done that. I kept telling him he could run ahead if he was getting bored with my slow pace, but he said he didn’t mind. So, he had an easy run… and I still managed to finish in 30:30, which was even faster than my race on Friday! After these last three races, I think I can safely say that my 5K pace is officially under a 10-minute mile.
Distance: 5K/3.1 miles
Time: 30:30
Pace: 9:49/mile
Next race: Fourth 5K Friday. I can’t believe we’re more than halfway done with them already! I am going to try not too push too hard, because we do have a 10 mile race on Sunday, but I think I can still do 10 minute pace without doing any damage for Sunday’s race.

Comments Off on Earth Day 5K

Filed under Pretending to be a Runner, Race Recap

Comments are closed.