5K Fridays 2010: Race Three

It was humid, hot and sticky for the 5K race this Friday. The skies threatened rain, which I would have actually welcomed during the race to cool off, but didn’t start until after I’d finished. I’d had a bad week of training (or, more accurately, not training) and my legs felt heavy. I was hoping to (a) not walk, and (b) finish under 31:00 (10 minute pace). It was a bit of a struggle, but I managed to accomplish both of those goals.
My mom and my aunt were down for a visit this weekend, so they came out to the race to cheer us on. I think it was the first race either of them had ever been to. I’m sure the first photo they took of me (smiling and waving at the halfway point) looks a lot better than the second (struggling the last quarter mile to the finish, not even looking at the camera).
Distance: 5K/3.1 miles
Time: 30:38
Pace: 9:52/mile
Next race: Earth Day 5K.

Comments Off on 5K Fridays 2010: Race Three

Filed under Pretending to be a Runner, Race Recap

Comments are closed.