5K Fridays 2010: Race Two

I said after the last racethat I might be able to finish in 31:00 (10 minute mile pace) this time, and I knew it shouldn’t be too hard to do (I only had to drop 10 seconds off my total time). But then Friday came and it was super windy, and with an out and back course, you are running into the wind for about half of the race, so I figured I’d cut myself some slack if I didn’t break 31:00 for the 5K this time.

The race got off to a fast start. I finished the first mile in 9:07 and thought, “Eff, that is way too fast. I’m not even going to be able to run this whole race now without walking.”

I didn’t want to burn out, so I slowed down the pace a little bit, and got to the two mile marker at 18:54… closer to the 10 minute mile pace I was used to. I kept cruising along at that pace for the next half mile or so and then realized my legs were feeling good. Really good. Strong. Not at all tired. I picked up the pace a bit.

I got to the three mile marker at 28:40, and then busted it out to the finish line.

29:28

Oh. My. Lord.

I dropped a minute and a half off my 5K PR. I ran the race in 9:29 pace. And I felt good. Adam missed me running by him before the final turn, because I was ahead of where he thought I was. I finished the race, grabbed a bottle of water, then jogged up behind where he was standing on the sidelines and said, “Looking for me?”

Distance: 5K/3.1 miles
Time: 29:28
Pace: 9:29/mile

Next race: The third 5K Friday. Considering I already shattered my ultimate Friday 5K goal of going under 30 minutes, I am just going to have to try to better my time from last week.

4 Comments

Filed under Pretending to be a Runner, Race Recap

4 responses to “5K Fridays 2010: Race Two

  1. You inspired me and I just ran my first ever 5k yesterday. 37 minutes! Ouch, but I did something I never thought I would. NEVER EVER thought I’d be a runner.

  2. How fantastic! Congrats.

  3. Sarah

    Woohoo! Awesome!

  4. bex

    CONGRATS! That is awesome!! Keep posting these recaps — you are making me miss running, and hopefully this will kick my butt in gear to get back to it!