5k Fridays: Race Four

I told you I’d run slower this week. I kept my word this time. :-)
Actually, I just realized (or more accurately, it was pointed out to me by a friend) that the mile splits that were being posted were for gun time not net time. So I’ve actually been running a few seconds faster per mile than I had thought.
I was pretty sure I wasn’t going to be able to beat last week’s time this week, but I was pretty close. I was ten seconds off pace for the first mile and overall, and I walked an extra minute this week (I think).
But, more importantly, the insoles I bought for my shoes seem to have done the trick. This was my first pain free run in… well, in over a year to tell the truth. And all it took was a few millimeters of foam. Huh. Now don’t I feel like an idiot. It’s another one of those “why didn’t I do this sooner?” things that make me feel like I wasted a chunk of my life. Oh well, at least I seemed to have figured it out… hopefully it continues to solve my problem.
Okay, time to hit the gym, go to the library, continue to do some wardrobe revamping, and then head up to Baltimore for a baseball game. I love Camden. They even have funnel cake. :-)
Distance: 5k (3.1 miles)
Time: 33:07
Pace: 10:40/mile

Comments Off on 5k Fridays: Race Four

Filed under Pretending to be a Runner, Race Recap

Comments are closed.