Time…

I published my first blog post In July 2003, just after finishing my first year of law school. It feels like a lifetime ago. I’ve graduated law school, passed two bar exams, had three real jobs, started dating Adam, got married, bought a house, and am now having a baby this summer.

When I first started blogging, I wrote constantly. I wrote about politics and legal issues that interested me. I wrote about law school and how frustrating it was to try to find a job. I wrote about going out with my friends… there were tipsy posts and hungover posts. I wrote about living in D.C. I wrote random thoughts as they popped into my head. I wrote nearly every day, sometimes multiple times a day.

Sometime, around four or five years ago, my blogging frequency slowed down. I’d started working at a real job and even though I kept my website fairly anonymous (I mean, there are enough details you could find out my full name and probably where I work if you wanted to, but it’s not directly googlable), it seriously curbed the way that I wrote. I became much more guarded.

Also, as I got older, life became much more settled, routine. I go to work, I go to the gym (well, less often than I should these days), I have dinner with my husband, we watch some television or pick up around the house, we go to bed. Weekends consist of chores, errands, house projects… and hopefully finding time to meet up with friends. These things all make for a wonderful life, but they don’t make for exciting stories.

A couple of years ago, I tried to see if I was just intimidated by the sheer number of posts on my old website, knowing I couldn’t keep up with that anymore. I shut that one down, moved a handful (by comparison) of those old posts over to here, and tried to start over again. It didn’t matter. I still wasn’t inspired to write here. I’ve kept it up (minimally) the past few years because I have made some actual connections with people through the internet and I love that aspect, but really? Most of that has been through Twitter, not this blog that I post to once, maybe twice a month. (Although I would not have joined Twitter or found a community on there without having this blog in the first place.)

It’s time to pull the plug. I’ve realized that some things just naturally run their course. I struggled for a while with this, because I felt like I was admitting defeat, being a quitter. I worried I’d miss it after having this piece of the internet for nearly ten years. You know what? Maybe I will miss it. Maybe one day I’ll be inspired to write every day, or at least every week, and have interesting things I want to share. But right now, I just write filler because I feel guilty for neglecting this space and what’s the point of that?

It’s been a good run, but I’ve reached the finish line. Now it’s time to pack up and move on to what’s next.

5 Comments

Filed under Randomness

5 responses to “Time…

  1. RA

    I think it’s good when you recognize the ending and move on to the next thing, and the next thing for you is going to be so exciting! I’m glad we can stay in touch on Twitter. :)

  2. Carolyn

    Sad to see you go, Steph. I don’t know if I ever mentioned this explicitly, but your blog is probably a key reason why we’re still friends today! I read it when I lived in upstate NY and California, and so even though we had lost touch, I still felt like I “knew” you via the blog and it felt totally natural to reach out to you when I was planning our move to NoVa. I failed many, many times at writing a blog, so I am really inspired by the work you’ve done over the years. I know you have a lot of amazing, exciting things coming up! And actually, I’m glad that I don’t really need your blog to stay in touch with you anymore. :)

  3. Sad Panda!! I understand leaving, but will miss you.

    Maybe you should wait until after the baby is born, you never know if you may want to write about that. :-)

  4. Elizabeth Johnston

    It no longer fills a need and has become a chore perhaps? I get that. Good luck! I found your first random blog while applying to law school way back when you started and for some reason never could unfollow, always wanting to keep up as if I’d actually met you. :-) Take care!

  5. oh….I’m so sorry to see you go! I was hoping to read about your adventures in parenting. I totally understand. This is something I struggle with too. I’m wondering when it is time to let jodifur go.